FSX and OOMs/VAS

My dear simmers,

Today I posted a new page:
https://kostasfsworld.wordpress.com/fsx-oom-and-addon-vas-usage/

This will hopefully help some of you understand the troubles you have with FSX and out of memory errors, plus at the end of the document I have added a section which I hope to expand, showing how much VAS is each addon using. Obviously not covering everything, but I’ll be happy to enter reports from other people, and the addons I own myself.

If you decide to contribute a report,  simple difference in VAS usage is enough, but you have to wait 1-2 minutes after you have loaded each scenery, for FSX to load everything, to get an accurate result. Also give a short description of what you loaded – but try keeping it simple, like only load the VC of the aircraft, or only measure the load of the McPhat textures vs. standard textures etc…

Thanks!

This entry was posted in FSX Tweaking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FSX and OOMs/VAS

  1. Dieter says:

    hi Costas,
    maybe you can help me, I´m absolutly desperated.
    I`m searching since days for OOM solutions.
    Since I have my new computer, i5-6600. 3,3 GHz, 8GB, WIN7 Prof, 64 bit, AMD RADEON R9 300, 4 GB, I have so many OOMs.
    I fly PMDG 737, 747, 777, MD-11
    Several UK2000 and AEROSOFT Airports, also the new Frankfurt 2.0.
    Now I´ve got a toll VAS Monitor.
    When I start FSX I´ve got 1.438 MB (35,96%) fre VAS.
    Is this normal?
    With my old computer, Q8300 Intel Core 2 Quad, 2,5 GHz, 8 GB, VISTA Home Premium, 64 bit, AMD RADEON R9 290, 2 GB, I had only 1 problem: I have to wait.
    I´ve got with the Aircreation_582SL at a default Airport only 1.504 MB.
    Do you have any idea?

    kind egards
    Dieter

Leave a Reply

