FSX Anisotropic Filtering Testing

Hello everyone,

Yesterday and today I went into venturing to see what differences Anisotropic filtering in FSX and in Nvidia Inspector brings. I was, simply said, astonished by some results. I honestly hope the test I did reflects reality, as I was flying around, and noticed certain problems when I came over water.

It all started with AVSIM’s user Rockliffe, who once said that he noticed small stutters with AF set to 16x in NI. So I took it couple of steps further, wanted to know what graphical differences both bring, and what, if any, performance differences.

100fps+ vs 31fps, in the external view, is something that made me look really awkward. Even NickN suggests using AF 16x in NI, and yet, I stumbled across this. Also, I would be very grateful if someone would attempt replicating these results. These were taken flying south, HDG 180, straight out of Gatwick, FTX UK installed, in a default 737. Also my textures are from REX, sparkling water, 2048 clouds, etc… nothing special, your every day settings.

Here are some shots I’d like to present, so you can see for yourself what I found out:

Image

Image

Image

Image

All I did between sessions was change the Aniso in FSX to trilinear and enable Aniso 16x in Nvidia Inspector.

Graphical differences are small – with internal Aniso, runway and taxiway textures are calmer, less shimmery, but water shimmers more, and with Nvidia Inspector Aniso 16, water shimmers much less, becomes very calm looking, except the animation which of course are present, while runway and taxiway textures shimmer more. Ground textures are pretty much the same. Other settings are all according to my FSX Guide blog.

I know I’ll be keeping the internal FSX Aniso on from now on, and as I said, I’d be glad if someone would repeat this test – maybe it’s something else causing this, maybe not, but if others don’t have such issues, I might start looking into other causes of this problem!

This entry was posted in FSX Tweaking. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to FSX Anisotropic Filtering Testing

  1. asanal says:

    Kosta,
    I repeated your flight from Gatwick HG 180 over ocean. REX, IN settings as above your listing.
    . I have only P3D and no Default 737, but I utilized CS-737. Interesting thing windowed mode I reached 200FPS. Full Screen mode I averaged 60FPS.
    Sanal

    • Kosta says:

      Sanal, these 200fps were with aniso in p3d or in nvidia inspector?

      • asanal says:

        Sorry,
        What is aniso?

      • Kosta says:

        Ups 😉
        Aniso is anisotropic filtering.
        I thought you knew what I was talking about.

      • Pedro says:

        Hi Kosta! I really need to ask you for some help please. i have fsx since 2008 and was never able to play with it cause always get horrible results. Even with my new computer. i7-2600k gtx580. Is it possible so send me a copy of your . cfg file so i can use it? I don’t understand much about howto edit. Really frustrated with this. Spent thousands on add ons and everything is on the shelf. No use. Can you please help me? Thank you so much. petewellinghton@hotmail.com

    • Paolo says:

      Hi Kosta,

      anisotropic filtering setting in NI OFF linear or point?

      Thanks
      Paolo

      • Kosta says:

        Doesn’t matter. I think linear is a default setting – just hover over the line in the nvidia inspector, on the far right end, there is a small nvidia sign, press that, and it will reset to default.

    • Kosta says:

      Thanks Dario,
      As Ryan says, I was really wondering, as as far as I know, AF should have no performance problems with any modern card.

  2. asanal says:

    Here is my aniso (?) settings. IN settins “ON”

  3. asanal says:

    Yes. really it is serious question. I possibly misunderstood your post. DO I have to remove bilinear filtering and put triliner.I saw in your last picture. you selected anisotropic. That is where I got confused.

    • Kosta says:

      In the drop down menu, where you have bilinear, there should be trilinear and anisotropic. You have to select anisotropic, and disable in Nvidia Inspector, as per guide.

  4. powerk says:

    You need set anisotropic in FSX options and (!) Inspector filtering to 8x(or 16x) to see working anisotropic filtration. Try to see airport lines on the ground or far textures in mountains

    FSX can’t use both trilinear and anisotropic filtration.

  5. Pedro says:

    Hi Kosta! I really need to ask you for some help please. i have fsx since 2008 and was never able to play with it cause always get horrible results. Even with my new computer. i7-2600k gtx580. Is it possible so send me a copy of your . cfg file so i can use it? I don’t understand much about howto edit. Really frustrated with this. Spent thousands on add ons and everything is on the shelf. No use. Can you please help me? Thank you so much. petewellinghton@hotmail.com

  6. Paolo says:

    Kosta,

    I did a couple of tests and, in my opinion, the best is “linear”.
    Also the quality of “ground texture” has improved, almost perfect with these your settings.

    thanks

    Paolo

    • Kosta says:

      Paolo, I just checked it against my NI, now that I’m at home, and this is a default and my current setting.

      • Paolo says:

        Remember to change your legendary guide, where you put in NI “point”.

        With compliments

        Paolo

  7. Kosta says:

    Why would I put point? Linear is default and you said linear previously.

  8. Steve McNitt says:

    Not sure if this is an Nvidia “problem” or not but forced AF on pretty much any sim I have is very troublesome. It causes pixel crawl/shimmering on just about every sim I own. It seems AF causes more aliasing and you need higher and higher AA to combat it.

    In X-Plane 10 it’s really terrible too. I have to turn it off with NVI or to 1x within the game or use really strong AA to cancel out the shimmers.

    DCS series is the same: forced AF causing terrible shimmering.

    Yet all the so called experts keep saying to turn it on and “all modern sims should be set to 16x”

    Moral of the story: sometimes you just have to figure it out on your own….took me months of tweaking to come to the same realization as you.

    • Kosta says:

      That is my realization too. I also have some other games, and mostly can never turn on AA/AF in NI, otherwise the games come to the crawl. The FSX is the only video game that will work with 8xS + 2xSGSS, and high levels of AF. However I practice AF in FSX nowdays, as you discovered.

  9. Jan says:

    Thanks Costa, My long time problem solved. My texture, RWY and water arel all 110% shimmer free. I have been having issues with shimmer since installing FSX-SE
    Although I have slightly different settings.
    in FS:
    Aniso – ON
    Inspector – aniso = 16x ( unless my int setting overrides it )

    Jan

Leave a Reply

