Flightsim Estonia – Flight1 story

Hello,

In the times of my ban from AVSIM, which apparently has quite strong connections to Flight1 (read my story below), a very interesting development around Flight1, thanks ctec1.
The summary of the story? – don’t give in.

Full story:
http://www.flightsim.ee/news/2013/on-flight1s-new-policy-and-on-the-most-bizzare-customer-weve-ever-had#more-462

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Flightsim Estonia – Flight1 story

  1. ajpongress says:

    Looks like GEX is in bed with Avsim.

  2. Graham says:

    Well if that was Nick ‘undercover’ then that is not a very wise way for a developer to behave. Even more so if Simforums were in on it to. In fact I feel more inclined to install GEX into P3D now and post screenshots everywhere just because I can. Although I don’t think i’ll bother to as I have already removed it and am awaiting ORBX world!

  3. smoshjkl says:

    Businesses who go around like a punk are the ones we should treat with no respect. Flight1 (I *hope* you read this), you can rest assured that I won’t ever be purchasing your products again. Acting like a bully is going to backfire….

  4. VC10 says:

    Very strange. Why just post the alleged misinformation on the migration tool forums which have comparatively light traffic? Surely it would have gotten more people reading it with less chance of being exposed as a fraud if they posted the info on Simforums, Avsim and Flightsim? That’s how I would have done it if I wanted to get people scared.

    Whatever the case this EULA crap is getting ridiculous and out of hand.

    • Graham says:

      SImforums and Avsim are big no no’s. As soon as its posted it will be removed probably with members being banned. Best to discuss it on places like this. Hopefully members of other sites will read about it in time.

      • VC10 says:

        You’ve misunderstood what I wrote.

        What I meant was if I were the dev of GEX and wanted to scare people away from trying to install it on P3D I wouldn’t post “they blocked my key” on the Migration Tool forums, I’d do it on Simforums, Avsim and Flightsim where a lot more people are going to see it.

      • Kosta says:

        Ok, get it. And it makes sense.

    • Kosta says:

      And I predict it’s only going to get much worse.

  5. Alex says:

    Sure it was Nick, he has his “CIA ways” – but why will people fork out money for that piece of louzy jigzawpuzzlelooking 3rd grade product, when you can have something like this for free:

    http://rutracker.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3331314

    Them Russians sure are entrepeneurs, not so much bull and chit-chat, njet, ACTION!!!

    • Graham says:

      Is that freeware as the site looks like a torrent-type site? May not be a good idea to post links to pirate sites if it is.

    • Kosta says:

      Alex, thanks, but doesn’t seem like a freeware.

      • C. Hagman says:

        If anyone is interested, is one of the top torrenting sites in Russia when it comes to FS products, and other things (sort of a russian piratebay)

        Since it’s not avsim I figure it’s allowed to write

      • Kosta says:

        C. Hagman,
        Please don’t promote piracy here. We all know stuff gets pirated, you can find enough by simply googling it, but let’s just leave the topic. Thanks.

  6. ctec1 says:

    To be fair, a link was posted on AVSIM by a member. I was watching it closely, it recieved only one response from a commercial member. I dont think any1 wanted to touch that topic with a ten foot pole.

  7. Alex says:

    Sure it´s freeware, what´s the problem? A Russian simmer has used the ORBX textures and made a landclass out of it, anyone can do that, if they have the skill, and the patience. Maybe John Venom has looked at it, and got a great idea for at new product, LOL! 😉

    • Kosta says:

      Yeah, but one can’t just take someone’s texture, modify them without their approval (which I doubt they got) and then post this modified material online.

  8. Daniel says:

    What are we talking about here?
    Don´t really get it…. people get investigated by companies?

    • Kosta says:

      Investigated? Nooo… by the sound of it, Flight1 was attempting to injure other people’s business. That is how it sounds to me.

  9. Daniel says:

    For me as well, Kosta!!!

  10. peter says:

    HI there hope you are well ,Ref this post I have taken the liberty to post the link to the actual thread you may have to join Flightsim Estonia ,but as I said before it is well worth reading ,the bloke calls himself Dar ? start to get really rude and arrogant! ,I live in the UK and I have decided to look at some of the rulings regarding use of software after you have purchased it in the EU just for my own “entertainment”
    peter

    http://board.flightsim.ee/discussion/28/gex-new-version-refuse-to-install#Item_31

    • Kosta says:

      Undisgraceful post which puts Flight1/GEX devs into very bad light. It surely looks like it was one of the GEX/UTX devs.

      I for one now know I will never ever buy anything from them.

      • Just Passing Through says:

        “It was one of the GEX devs.”
        I cleaned that up for you, Kosta. Don’t ask how I know…
        Re: Avsim/Flight1 being buddies? Wrong! Not when a “major contributor” has been banned due to multiple log- ins under different names, just like his dumb azz was banned twice at a competitor’s forum for multiple user names and being hell bent on bad mouthing the competition.

        Never underestimate the massive egos of payware developers and their inability to get along!

  11. Alex says:

    Oh, the arrogance, the arrogance, I know that “tone”. Instead of Dar or Darric, I would say: NN – and this is not “No Name”!

  12. Ian McPhail says:

    I found that I could not install GEX through the migrator because an error message came up saying it could not find the FSX appdata folder. It gave me no option to install into the P3D migrator. I have now gone wholly over to Global, for better or worse.

    • Kosta says:

      I don’t know which version you are using, but the newest versions of GEX actually prevent usage in P3D. You would need older installers, they work.
      Well, give me a note what you think about Global when you have used it…

  13. Ian McPhail says:

    The trouble is when I hit Reinstall on the GUI I presume that I am automatically using the latest version which then blocks me.

    • Kosta says:

      Why are you reinstalling? Uninstall and use the older installer…? Depending on the region here, I have Europe, and using the older installers, up to the newest all in one manager, that one I skipped…

Leave a Reply

