Nvidia GTX Titan for FSX Test – GPU Comparison

My dear simmers,

Straight out of the oven, a GPU comparison GTX580, GTX680, GTX Titan, in FSX, according to my rules and test situations! Get it while it’s hot!

Located here!

Kind regards,
Kosta

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Nvidia GTX Titan for FSX Test – GPU Comparison

  1. Szatmary, John says:

    He needs to do a 2600k vs 3770k.

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. charles says:

    He’s talking the CPU compcomparison. Although it should be a 2700k versus 3770k at default clocks. 3.5 GHz. 😉

    • Kosta says:

      Yeah, I know what 2699K and 3770K are, but why do we need that? We already have that, and know that 3770K is approx. 5% better, due to better IPC, than 2600K, but also clocks lower due to temperature issue, virtually making two CPUs perform same in FSX. One will go 5.0 and another 4.8, but both will achieve almost same FPS. It also doesn’t matter if 2700K, because the IPC on the 3770K is better, since 2700K is = 2600K, just higher binned, and 3770K still has better IPC. It will have higher FPS at same frequency.

  3. Alex says:

    Hmmmm…? Why do you attract these xxxxxx, with their xxxxx xxxxxx comments? xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx…….. Vielen dank, zum wohl, gesundheit uzw. 😉

    • Kosta says:

      Alex, what is the meaning of this reply?? Everyone is allowed here, I have no restrictions, I did however moderate out what your said. It’s not nice – everyone can ask whatever question they desire.

  4. pilotter says:

    Hi Kosta, already lost you on avsim…. Small question I am sure now to take the Titan, however could you tell me the resolution this was all tested on? And you are using a IPS monitor right? No ghosting or what so ever?

    many thanks for your post, makes it easier to decide for my next size/resolution monitor.

    • Kosta says:

      Yeah, this was tested in my native resolution, 2560×1440. Yes, an IPS monitor, this is an Apple-panel, without much of electronics Apple delivers, without ghosting their cinema displays show, since all those electronics are bypassed. The screen has very low response time, but also only a power connector and a DVI, nothing else. Always look for minimal in the monitor, you will see those provide best performance. All those can-it-all non-TN monitors will then have terrible performance (I did a LOT of research before buying the Catleap).

  5. Noel says:

    Hi Kosta,
    I’m using GTX Titan on X79 and as you know nV does not directly support PCIe 3.0 in their standard driver releases for SB-E but have offered an executable/patch of sorts to force 8Gbps.
    Did your testing involve analyzing Titan’s performance in PCIe 2.0 versus 3.0, by setting to GEN1 or GEN2 in the BIOS perhaps to force PCIe 2.0 bus for Titan? I’m a little afraid of the patch as it apparently isn’t for all X79 motherboards.

    Thanks!

    Noel
    Paradise, California

    • Kosta says:

      Hi Noel,
      As I had no PCIe3.0 at the time of testing (the mainboard did, but my CPU is a 2600K), I wasn’t able to do any testing for 3.0.
      However, in your case, I usually do one thing: image-backup my windows+fsx partitions, and just fool around. I can install anything to test, see how it work, if well, fine, if not, I image-back. Doing that with Acronis.

  6. Noel says:

    Thanks Kosta,
    Can you speak to using Acronis (or Seagate Disk Wizard which was/is an Acronis-based utility) for imaging/cloning SSD>HDD or HDD>SDD? Should this work the same?

    • Kosta says:

      For cloning HDD->SSD, I used Paragon migrator. But you can use Acronis too, the newer versions also align correctly I believe.

  7. Ben2 says:

    hi there…managed to get a stable 30 fps with the new pmdg 777…i used some of your tips kosta and i liked them all. i found out that some points in nvidia inspector can be set to low and they don´t affect the image as much as i expected.
    http://flightsimex.blogspot.de/2013/09/pmdg-stable-30-fps-guide.html
    maybe you can check the settings.
    what is really annying is, that the mouse over costs so much fps. couldn´t get rid of that.

    • Kosta says:

      Thanks a lot, I will look into this, however I did a lot of testing back when I was writing my blog and confirmed that the best performance was always better with the bp 0. I will try his tweaking…

    • Kosta says:

      Hi Ben,

      I got around to checking your blog, settings and performance.
      The thing is, your basis for your tweaks is with BP on, and this is a full contradiction to what I am using. I did try that way many times, and personally, on my computer, it gave me:
      – more stutters
      – less FPS
      To point some stuff out: SmallPartRejectRadius is nonsense IMO. It gives a virtually invisible performance boost, while it takes so much realism away. Taxiing on an airport, and having signs, even far ones, no thanks. And yeah, I know it blends out some autogen, however my performance difference is so small between various AG steps, it’s just dismissible. I am only keeping it little lower so that when I activate my FTX region, my performance doesn’t drop too much.

      Rest, sorry, too much to write as it would require a 2nd Guide to explain it all. I went through all those settings, one by one, testing how they perform and tried to filter those really relevant ones. The more tweaks you have and the more “tweaked” system you have, the worse will it perform, IMO. (probably the wisest sentence I ever said…)

Leave a Reply

