Majestic Dash Q400 + Airline2Sim Tutorial Videos

Well well,

Although I never thought of myself flying the prop, being a massive jet-tubeliner junkie, I have to say, I have been massively surprised in the last couple of days.

Since I’ve been planing on getting into Austrian Airlines Virtual yet again, I decided it was time for something new. I received the Q400 and the Airline2Sim videos to start with my “training” of the Q400. I have always been somewhat impressed with the turboprops, but never really dove into them.

I can’t say much about the aircraft yet, as I am now up to the Video #3, which is just prior to take-off, but until now, I have to say, as a NGX junkie and since that aircraft is basically my bar of flight sim quality product, the Dash matches it quite nicely. It is just a mere point in cockpit quality below the NGX, but with somewhat better performance! It’s not magic, but I will say with certainty it is about 20-30% faster. Which is, in an FSX world, a lot.

Now, from the 3 courses I made until now (and I will give you an update when I continue further), I must say I am very impressed with the aircraft and the videos!

You can feel, from the moment you enter Q400 cockpit, that there is a basic difference to any other aircraft out there. Starting from the performance, going over the sounds, how it moves, how it reacts to commands. Wow. Because Q400 basically runs completely independant of FSX flight modelling, it’s allowed to use everything custom, at least that’s my understanding of it. All parts of the sim are outside, and that makes the whole Q400 a whole new experience! Mostly impressive for me are the sounds and how they are controlled. I know FS9 and FSX now for years, and the sound modelling was always the same. Same old boring “problems”. In Q400, I have a feeling it’s completely different – it’s like being “in-there”. Engine sounds respond correctly, they sound like I remember from the Dash flights around Austria… and I hope the aircraft flies like the one I flew recently.
One of the coolest things though, the sounds play externally. It’s like the P3D function of external sounds, but this is in FSX πŸ™‚ Love it. Can calmly switch to another app if I want, without sim breaking off the sound.

Now, the videos…
Thank you Ben!! This is by far the best collection of videos I have come across in a long long time. Not only the fact that they are very detailed and give a lot of information, they are very clear and understandable. It’s always nicely shown what you have to do and where the button is. With a brief explanation of the function. And then there are detailed parts which explain the FMC or whatever else, but I am not yet that far… For me as an experienced 737 sim-pilot, I am able to follow the videos without a single problem. Pausing, setting, listening, pausing, setting… really really great. Beats the PDF reading any day.
And did I mention, Ben actually had a F/O with him in the videos, so he’s the one actually giving the tutorials. So, you are basically learning the Dash off the first hand experience of a real world Dash pilot. I don’t know what else to say, except that the videos are well worth the buy if you are interested into the Dash – and you should be!!

Anyway, while I continue with the videos, I suggest you check both, if you didn’t already:
Majestic Dash Q400
Airline2Sim Q400 Cadet Training Program

All in all, a must have!!

Screenshot

And here is the video of the next day’s landing:

First Landing Q400

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Majestic Dash Q400 + Airline2Sim Tutorial Videos

  1. airline2sim says:

    Glad to hear you’re enjoying it Kosta! I promise you one thing – by the time you get to the end of the tutorials you’ll keep coming back to Q400 over and over again. There’s something so appealing about those short, busy 40-50 min sectors that the tubeliners can’t deliver. Best of luck with the rest of the course!
    Ben
    Airline2Sim

    • Jason says:

      One thing about the training videos is that how much like a real flying lesson it felt. I did my ppl and could almost imagine myself at my local airport being talked through the lesson for the day.

      The only difference is not hearing all the Instructors grumbling about their CFI, Lance…

      • Kosta says:

        Jason,
        Good to know that the experience resembles the real world. I never did a PPL, but I would love to – it only fails on the financial part :). Maybe some day.

  2. duke6amer says:

    Great post Kosta, glad to see you’re enjoying some prop time. Out of interest what version of the Majestic Dash Q400 are you using (Pilot or Pro)?

    • Kosta says:

      Duke, it’s the pilot version. I wonder if I can upgrade to pro at some later point…

      However, don’t see the pro version available on simmarket.

  3. Jerry says:

    Kosta, the Pro version has not been released yet but I understand it is in Beta testing now. They are going to offer it for the difference in what you paid for the Pilot version and what the Pro version is when it is released. Enjoy the rest of the course and I think you will get a special treat when you get to #10. I am an NGX sim-pilot also and this Dash is fast becoming one of my favorite aircraft. πŸ™‚
    Jerry

    • Kosta says:

      Jerry,
      Thanks for the info. I will likely get the pro version, if for nothing else then shared cockpit (would really love to fly with someone) and advanced sounds. Then there are failures… mhhh. Sounds nice πŸ™‚

  4. JerryF says:

    Hi Kosta,
    Yes, the Q400 is an amazing plane. The ,sound, the icing, and now I believe the wx. radar will work with AS Next.
    The only problem I have is having to use the ailerons to steer with on taxi .

    JerryF

  5. JerryF says:

    Opps, I was wrong about the wx radar, in the Q400, I really meant the Ifly 737, which I don’y fly anymore.
    Jfriz

  6. nigel says:

    Whilst I also like the q400 being a retired airbus pilot , you will now understand why real pilots are only allowed 2 active type ratings. I found that no sooner that I really started to fly the q400 correctly that my flying of the airbus and NGX suffered, thankfully it is only a sim However having flown the q400 for quite a few hours now I doubt I would now pass a check flight in an airbus as one cannot retain all the information required, so sooner or later you will have to make a decision of jets or props, if you want to fly correctly.
    Thanks for the blog I like it a lot.

    • Kosta says:

      nigel,
      You are of course right. The stuff is so complicated, that we just can’t learn many aircraft in detail. I already notice that when I start learning one deep, that I start forgetting some small things from the NGX. Not really liking it, but the best thing I guess is just to learn both and then fly them respectively.

  7. Iain says:

    A bit OT here, but I cannot find any other way to contact you Kosta.

    Is there any chance you’ll do a review of FSX Fiber Accelerator?

Leave a comment