Buyers beware – 32-64bit converter scam @ Flightreal.com

I just wanted to alert people about a tool (thanks to Ben from Airline2Sim and Majestic), for which I am very sure it doesn’t do what is advertising itself as: expand the RAM usage of FSX. It’s just not possible to covert an EXE from 32bit to 64bit without a source code, and probably breaking any and every compatibility with any addon out there.

http://flightreal.com/32-bit-to-64-bit.html

I see a big thread on AVSIM, and also lots of replies, and they also agreed it is a fake and a scam. Anyway, buyers beware, make a wide circle around it!

And, I just read it dumbs down the fsx.cfg with lower settings, thus “reducing” your VAS usage. DUH.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Buyers beware – 32-64bit converter scam @ Flightreal.com

  1. Sherman Kaplan says:

    Thanks for posting this. I believe that with the DX10 Fixer, it is possible to go above the 4k limit. Btw, I have 8 gigs of ram on my mobo, and using Alacrity, I routinely can recapture more than 7 gigs, by cutting down to under 50 working processes.

    • Kosta says:

      Sherman,
      Sorry to tell you, but it’s not. There is no tool, way, possibility or a Holy Grail to make FSX use more than 4GB of VAS (it IS what crashes the sim when it is reached). Anything else doesn’t matter, nor is relevant. You can have 1TB of RAM and FSX will still crash within the 4GB boundary. It *is* a 32-bit application and will never use more, by design.

      • Efrain Ruiz says:

        Hey Kosta, it’s Efrain. Can you contact me via email? I don’t have access to my old email account, but you can probably see the email I used in order to make this post. Email me if you see it.

        I am planning on making the switch to P3D and who else am I going to speak with when it comes to that! 🙂 Talk to you soon, brother.

  2. Sherman Kaplan says:

    You are correct. I realized my mistake after posting. I was confusing VAS with system ram made available with Ken Salter’s Alacrity

  3. Bob Y. says:

    Hello Kosta. I see that these “Flightreal” folks have a “contact” on their website. It would be interesting if you could try to contact them and see if you can get a sense of what is motivating them to try to rip off the flight sim community.

    • Kosta says:

      Bob,
      While probably not such a bad idea, I don’t want to mix myself up into such things, simple as that. Best spread the info and make everyone aware.

      • Bob Y. says:

        I understand what you are saying Kosta.
        This software is producing a lot of opinions. It would be interesting to really put it through a test and see what it is really doing. It would make a great article.
        They say that it’s not changing a 32bit FSX into a 64bit FSX, but only “simulating” a 64bit software.
        That discription leaves me totally in the dark. That would be like someone getting into their Yugo and “simulating” going 200mph down the freeway in a Corvette.

      • Kosta says:

        Bob,
        Indeed, they call it simulating. However you can’t simulate that. It’s just a scam, is all that is.
        The posted fact on AVSIM that they dumb down the fsx.cfg, tells the whole story also.

Leave a comment